How To Be Happy

It’s saturday night and I’m at the home. You may think that I’m pathetic because I’m not going out and enjoy in life. It’s contrary. I’m here right now and I’m writing. I like to write. It’s my passion and I’m enjoying every second of it. I’m drinking an indian tea and I’m thinking about something. Thinking about people, about society. Thinking about happiness. You see a lot of people in your day. If you pay a closer attention to them, actually at their faces you can see something in common with the majority of that people. First, you will rarely see a smile. You will see a lot of pain, suffering, grief, sadness, you name it. Majority of that people are not happy. They are missing the point of life. They are missing so much that world can offer. World is one huge place and if you don’t have a right mindset it can be your worst nightmare. With the right mindset world can be a beautiful place which can offer you so many opportunities. It’s on your hands to utilize those opportunities.

john-lennon-happy-6674683792

You can see a popular quote from John Lennon. When I look at his life I can say that he was living happy life. He was living his dream. He is a legend. He knew how to be happy.

What’s the point of life if you are living miserable and unfulfilled life?

Actually there is no point in living that life. The most people work jobs they don’t like. The most people work 9-5 for thirty or more years. The most people can’t wait to go home from the shitty job. Do you see what I wanted to say? The most people are not happy and they are wasting their energy and life on things which they hate.

Happiness should be your ultimate goal in life. Happiness is the state of mind. There is no secret formula which tells you what to do in order to be happy. A lot of people believe that secret formula exists. I will save your precious time. There is no secret formula. I will give you some advises to reach that state of mind, to ‘learn’ how to be happy.

1) Do what you love to do

That’s the most important advice here. Do what you love to do. Remember that sentence. You need to figure out what you love to do. Do you want to work something you hate for your whole life? Do you want to work on the job which unfulfilled you? Do you want to work for somebody?

You need to answer to those questions. After that, ask yourself what do you really want to do in your life? Forget about the money for a second and ask yourself what do you desire? What is your passion? What do you do with all of your heart?

9148791_orig

It’s hard to figure it out. It may take months or years to realize what is your passion. Some people will never figure it out. For me, it almost took twenty years to find my passion. My passion is writing. I don’t get paid for that, but I believe that one day I will live from writing and blogging. It’s my passion. I live for that and I won’t give up on that.

Like Confucius said:

“Choose a job that you love and you will never have to work a day in your life.”

If you find what you really love to do then it’s not a real work because you enjoy. That job fulfills you. You will understand what does word happiness mean.

2) Stop comparing yourself to others

Comparing yourself to others is really common behavior in our society. For god sake, don’t do it! That is a toxic behavior which will ruin your life. There is more than 7 billion people on this planet and we are all different. We have a different habits, different hobbies, different passions, different relationships, etc. So what’s the point of comparing?

People who know each other and have something in common are in some sort of relationship. They can do things together, they can be a partners, they can enjoy with each other. Those people are probably happy. But then, what’s the point of comparing yourself to your friend, to some stranger who may be prettier than you, have more money than you, have more girls than you? Why are we doing that?

stop-comparing-comic2

Whey you are comparing yourself to someone else, you need to recognize that behavior and stop doing that immediately! I don’t know you but I know something. I know that you are awesome person. I know that you are talented in something. I know that you are unique. If we are going to meet each other one day, I’m sure that I could list you at least 5 beautiful things about you. You need to realize that you don’t need to compare yourself to some awesome guy because you are already awesome. Just be yourself and live your life!

I want to mention that there is a one person who is worth of comparing. Do you know that person? I’m sure you know that person more than anyone else. That person is YOU. You need to compare yourself only to yourself. How do I mean that? It’s simple. You are living your life. You are living now, you are living in the present. Tomorrow, today will be yesterday. Tomorrow you will be the new person. You will have a new experiences. You should compare yourself to yourself from yesterday. That’s the only person who is worth of comparing. You need to be better than yesterday, you need to beat that person from yesterday, you need to do thing you were feared to do yesterday, you need to push your limits.

3) Don’t complain

That’s the last advice I want to give you about happiness. Don’t ever complain about your situation, about your life. Maybe it’s a hard time in your life but don’t complain. You can’t control much things in your life. There’s a one thing you can control. You can control your thoughts. That’s all you really need. If you think that something is hard, that you can’t achieve something. Guess what? That’s the illusion. You tricked yourself and put limit to yourself.

I like to say that we don’t have limits. That’s true. The only limit is our mind. If we believe that we can achieve something then we will achieve that. Contrary, if we believe that we can’t achieve something then we won’t achieve that. It’s all in our mind. You need to learn how to control your thoughts. It’s really powerful weapon. With that weapon in your pocket you can do miracles. Don’t fight against that weapon because you will never win. Use that weapon on your side and use it wisely. You can win any war with that weapon on your side.

Instead of complaining try to accept and embrace a difficult times in your life. You can’t change something. All you can do is to change yourself. Change your perspective on something. You won’t do anything good to yourself by complaining. You can only hurt yourself by complaining. So please stop!


Those three villains don’t wish you a happy life. You need to remove those three villains from your life forever. If you can do that you will be really happy. Almost every successful man is happy and fulfilled. They are living their life to the fullest. They are living the dream. Why don’t you join them today?

9 thoughts on “How To Be Happy

  1. Rebecca Meyer February 22, 2015 / 2:56 pm

    Good advice. I need to work on following these things. In hard times, we forget striving for our own happiness and stay depressed too long.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Antonio Gabric February 22, 2015 / 3:35 pm

      Thank you. A lot of people need to work on those things(me included). But the problem is that people find themself comfortable in the mediocrity so they don’t realize that they are not happy. They are living by the rules of society.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rebecca Meyer February 22, 2015 / 3:42 pm

        I think that’s been a lot of my problem, too. I have allowed myself to stay in unhappy or even miserable situations when I knew it wasn’t a good idea. I was too afraid of change and the unknown. I was too afraid to stand up for myself and go after what I deserved. But I know now that I deserve to be happy, and that’s what I’m after.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Antonio Gabric February 22, 2015 / 4:25 pm

    Yeah it’s a problem but you are doing really great. You are doing really great because you realize that you deserve to be happy. That’s beginning, you will get to the place of unlimited hapiness really soon. Just work hard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

